Anxiety, obsessive-compulsive disorder and trauma in the DSM-5

Research output: Contribution to journalArticleProfessional


BACKGROUND: The 12 anxiety disorders which were defined in the DSM-IV, have been increased to 27 disorders in the DSM-5.These 27 disorders have been subdivided into three chapters: 1. anxiety disorders, 2. obsessive-compulsive and related disorders (OCRD) and 3. trauma and stressor-related disorders. AIM: To describe the most important differences between the DSM-IV and DSM-5 classifications of the above-mentioned disorders. METHOD: Survey of the relevant literature. RESULTS: Within the chapter on anxiety disorders in DSM-5 the classifications of 'panic disorder' and 'agoraphobia' have been separated. In addition, DSM-5 allows the specification 'with panic attacks' to be applied to all psychiatric disorders. New additions to the group OCRD are: 'trichotillomania' and 'body dysmorphic disorder'. Also newly added to the group are the new classifications 'excoriation disorder' and 'hoarding disorder'. The DSM-IV group of adjustment disorders has been merged with the group of stress disorders. In accordance with the system adopted elsewhere in DSM-5, the disorders which are 'usually first diagnosed in infancy, childhood and adolescence' and which resemble the disorders defined in the three chapters have been added to these chapters. Two extra categories are defined in each of the three chapters. CONCLUSION: The three chapters in DSM-5 are little more than a re-arrangement of the disorders defined in DSM-IV. The revision has not led to any clarification of or insight into the relationship between and the etiology of these disorders.

Translated title of the contributionAnxiety, obsessive-compulsive disorder and trauma in the DSM-5
Original languageDutch
Pages (from-to)177-181
Number of pages5
JournalTijdschrift voor Psychiatrie
Issue number3
Publication statusPublished - 1 Jan 2014


  • Adjustment disorder
  • Anxiety disorders
  • DSM-5
  • Obsessive-compulsive disorder
  • Trauma

Cite this